Tuesday, September 22 at 7:00 p.m. | Virtual Concert

Presented in partnership with Butler School of Music

Texas Performing Arts presents TPA TO GO, a mini-series of online, interactive performances made for the moment by artists with humor, courage, and fresh perspectives. 

Hub New Music will premiere new works by Carlos Simon and perform recent commissions by Kati Agócs and Hannah Lash as part of a virtual residency. This virtual event will include a live chat and post-performance Q&A with Founder, Executive Director, and flutist, Michael Avitabile.

Called “contemporary chamber trailblazers” by the Boston Globe, Hub New Music — composed of flute, clarinet, violin, and cello — is forging new pathways in 21st-century repertoire. The ensemble’s ambitious commissioning projects and “appealing programs” (New Yorker) celebrate the rich diversity of today’s classical music landscape. 

Kati Agócs, Rogue Emoji
Carlos Simon, excerpts from Requiem for the Enslaved 
*Hannah Lash, The Nature of Breaking
Guest artist, Hannah Lash, joins Hub New Music on harp for her own composition.

*This commission has been made possible by the Chamber Music America Classical Commissioning Program, with generous funding provided by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. 

Current Texas Inner Circle Members will receive a link to enjoy this performance for free. Watch your email!

Not part of the Inner Circle? Buy Tickets Here!

Event Details

Ticket Information

  • Cost: $15.00

Presenter Details

  • Name: Texas Performing Arts
  • Texas Performing Arts is the performing arts presenting program of The University of Texas at Austin and operates campus venues including Bass Concert Hall and McCullough Theatre.  It is the home of the Lexus Broadway in Austin series. In calendar year 2019 Bass Concert Hall had the highest number of tickets sold of any theater in Austin, was #2 in the State of Texas and #22 in the world, according to industry publication Pollstar. Following a national search, Tony Award-winning producer Bob Bursey was appointed Executive Director in January, 2020.