Aso header

Photo credit: Tim Machajewski

Listen to this broadcast by tuning your radio to 89.5 FM or by clicking the streaming button at the top of this webpage on Sunday, August 4 at 7:00 p.m. This is a broadcast of a previously recorded event. It will not be archived for on-demand listening.

Each year the Austin Symphony Orchestra invites young Texas composers ages eighteen and under to participate in the Sarah and Ernest Butler Austin Symphony Young Composers Competition. These talented composers submit an original orchestral composition seven minutes or less in length using standard orchestral instrumentation. The competition results in cash scholarships for the winners as well as the exciting opportunity of having their works played in a concert given by the Austin Symphony. KMFA will broadcast the performance of the 9th annual competition winner’s compositions this Sunday, August 4 at 7:00 p.m. This year’s winners are:

Tanner Walterman, In Just a Flash, First Prize - $3,000 Scholarship; Vista Ridge HS (Cedar Park)  

Somesh Yatham, Connotation, Second Prize - $2,500 Scholarship; Round Rock HS (Round Rock)  

Ethan Dintzner, Zwei Tanze, Third Prize - $2,000 Scholarship; Westlake HS (Austin)  

Ayden Machajewski, Cloud Chaser, Fourth Prize - $1,500 Scholarship; Round Rock HS (Round Rock)  

David Schuler, Whitten Lane, Fifth Prize - $1,000 Scholarship; Rouse HS (Leander)

Jackson Bosenbark, Realms, Honorable Mention - $750 Scholarship; College Station HS (College Station)

Finn Dickens, Blue Eccentricities in Orange, Honorable Mention - $750 Scholarship; St. Andrews Episcopal (Austin) 

Julian Falco, Watercolor Clockwork, Honorable Mention - $750 Scholarship; Friendswood HS (Houston) 

Benjamin Roberts, Introspection, Honorable Mention - $750 Scholarship; College Station HS (College Station)  

These scholarships are made possible by a generous endowment from Sarah and Ernest Butler.

This broadcast is part of KMFA's Listen Local series. This project is supported in part by the Cultural Arts Division of the City of Austin Economic Development Department. 

View show archive